24 teams confirmed for 2019 Africa Cup of Nations but no Aubameyang

The 24 teams that have qualified for the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations have been confirmed. Egypt are hosting Africa’s most prestigious competition.

Riyad Mahrez’s Algeria are among the countries, in what will be the first time the tournament was expanded from 16 to 24 sides.

Four teams qualified in total from North Africa. They are Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia and Egypt.

Burundi, Madagascar and Mauritania all qualified for the first time in their history. Burundi have striker Saido Berahino in their ranks.

As well as Berahino’s boys, Uganda, Tanzania and Kenya also qualified from East Africa. South Africa were the final team to qualify, and Namibia also made it for the first time since 2008. Angola, Zimbabwe and Madagascar complete the Southern section.

Cameroon, who are the holders, and DR Congo booked their places over the weekend. West Africa has the most amount of teams.

Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Senegal, Mali, Nigeria, Benin, Ghana and Ivory Coast will all be in Egypt in June and July.

There is no place for Gabon and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, who is most certainly the biggest player to miss out. Burkina Faso, Zambia and Cape Verde also did not qualify.

Follow the entire tournament in English with DZ Football as the countdown to Egypt 2019 begins.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: