Pots announced for group stage draw of 2019 Africa Cup of Nations

The pots have been released for the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations group phase draw, which takes place on Friday 12th April at 7pm in Egypt. All managers of the 24 teams qualified will be present, at a ceremony that will be conducted with star names such as Yaya Toure.


AFCON 2019 will be the first edition to have 24 teams in the tournament, in an identical format to Euro 2016. CAF have decided to base the pots on FIFA rankings, as well as taking into account the hosts Egypt and the holders Cameroon. Here are the pots in full:

Pot 1: Egypt, Cameroon, Senegal, Tunisia, Morocco, Nigeria

Pot 2: DR Congo, Algeria, Ivory Coast, Guinea, Mali, Ghana

Pot 3: South Africa, Uganda, Benin, Mauritania, Madagascar, Kenya

Pot 4: Zimbabwe, Angola, Tanzania, Namibia, Guinea-Bissau, Burundi

Perhaps the biggest shock is to see so many big African nations in pot 2, which contains the likes of Ghana and Ivory Coast. Herve Renard, a stalwart of AFCON, will take charge of the Moroccan national team. Algeria sneak into pot 2 after Burkina Faso failed to qualify.

Three teams are making their debut in the competition. It promises to be an evening filled with excitement and drama. You can follow the draw live and in English with DZ Football.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: